To Spring’s Return

The bluejay’s return relieves my soul’s winter.

Wary of me, he sings from a distance.

Home has not always been a sanctuary.

Last fall, our good-bye kiss was vampiric.

 

I don’t expect forgiveness or impact.

I only hope for your touch, time, space.

Stop fleeing or I’ll devolve to bluejay.

Implied condescension meant. You may fly,

but I’m sky in my lone universe spring.

Abandoned, I wail blush dogwood petals.

 

A tree without a forest, leaves unfurl.

Open, upward, plaintive palms begging note.

No visitors come, deep roots thin, brittle.

No connection, commune, family, flow.

I live as I gulp my solar  savior.

Hands close, eyes shut, deaf to blue jay’s new call.

Blooming has proved more painful than hiding.

 

Breathless, I shrink sensing late petals,

the light tunnel beyond spring’s tepid fires.

2 thoughts on “To Spring’s Return

Leave a Reply

