another fish, another pond

“I wonder what it’s like to be a big fish in a little pond… One of the last things my mother said to me…We were listening to the song, ‘She’s So High Above Me.” Ever hear it?”

 

He slowly nods no.

 

“The chorus goes…like Cleopatra, Joan of Arc, and some other grand woman. I sighed and told her I just wanted some guy to think that about me once. She told me that it would happen, ’cause I was already all of those women. ¬†She believed, so I believed. She died about a week later. I’m not so sure any more.”

 

“There are many people who have respect for you.”

 

“Sometimes, it’s hard for me to remember that. Think I would have better memory if I was a big fish?”

 

“You’re a beautiful fish.”

Leave a Reply

